top of page
  • Writer's pictureR.W. Diamond Broker

Diamond Terms: Your Essential Pocket Guide

Looking to buy diamonds? But don't have an idea of diamond terms and details then this article will help you understand everything about diamonds.

Before you purchase your diamond jewelry, you need to understand these diamond terminologies to make the right decision. We’ve created a list of diamond terminologies that will offer you great help as well as make your diamond shopping easy and hassle-free.

Let’s Take a Look at the 4Cs of Diamonds:

Once you understand the terms of 4Cs, you will be able to purchase the perfect diamond within your budget.

The grade of diamonds is dependent upon 4 factors, also known as 4Cs: cut, clarity, color and carat weight. Each “C” of the diamonds has its own grading scale to evaluate its quality. The 4C’s help diamond merchants to determine the price and the quality and compare diamonds from one another. Also, it’s very important for customers who are looking to purchase diamonds .

First C is “Cut”

Cut of the diamond is considered as one of the important elements to consider. A well-cut diamond will give more sparkle as compare to the diamonds less expertly cut. That’s why it is said “the better the cut, the more sparkle stone will have”

Second C is “Color”

Usually, the colorless diamonds are more valuable. Most people stay in the G to J range. The color of the diamond is rated on a scale of D-Z with “D” means completely colorless and “Z” being a noticeable yellow.

Third C is “Clarity”

The clarity of diamond means the amount/type of inclusions present in it. These inclusions can easily be found on the surface of the diamonds or inside the diamond. A diamond with a less flaw receives a higher grade.

Fourth C is “Carat Weight”

When people hear the term of “Carat Weight”, they think it’s about the size of the diamond. Actual reality is different from this, carat means, the weight of the diamond.

Apart from these 4Cs, there is one more “C” that most of the people are not aware of. This “C” is most important for the customers who’re planning to buy new engagement rings, wedding rings or any other diamond jewelry. Yes, that's right! We’re talking about cost. You can get your diamond in your budget by using a trusted diamond dealer in DFW like R.W. Diamond Broker in Dallas to guide you through the process in an honest, ethical and sincere way.

Which are the popular shapes of the diamonds?

Diamond comes in a wide variety of shapes, but most common ones are round, princess, oval, cushion and marquise. You can easily find the diamond shape of your choice from Robert Wolchuk Diamond Broker. Diamond jeweler.

How Diamonds Can be Classified?

When it comes to diamond shopping, most of the customers are not aware of the technical aspects of diamonds. Diamonds are classified into four types based on their appearance.

Let’s understand, how a diamond gets classified?

(1) Natural Diamonds

What first thing comes to your mind? When you hear the word Diamonds? A white sparkling rock that founded from mines. Yes, you’re right “Natural Diamonds” are mined the natural way that’s why they are known as” Natural Diamonds”.

(2) Treated Diamonds

These are artificially enhanced versions of the natural diamonds. These are mind just like the regular diamonds. However, gone through the treatments to make them look better. As compared to natural diamonds, treated diamonds are sold in the lower prices.

(3) Man Made Diamonds

Manmade diamonds are also called lab grown diamonds, these diamonds are grown in the lab and these days they are gaining huge popularity.

(4) Natural Colored Diamonds

The natural diamonds occur in a variety of color's such as blue, purple, black, green and red. These can be very expensive.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page